Pass The Sunblock Please

At my age, I should know better. But still I throw caution to the wind – in this case, the sun – and decided that I hate wasting a sunny day hanging around inside waiting for the clothes to wash and dry, so I ventured outside in the brutal heat to sit in the shade under the carport to read. There was a semi-cool breeze blowing around two cars, so I set up my canvas lawn chair I got at Wally World between the two and sat down.

Inside or outside, it doesn’t really matter, I always manage to doze off and today was no exception. Two pages short of the end of Chapter 45, I put my head against the back of the chair to just “close my eyes for a minute.” I awoke to a burning sensation on my legs. Sure enough, my legs looked like lobster claws. But I was sitting in the shade! I said to myself. Idiot! my self said back. It’s probably wind burn and if you don’t know by now that you can burn in the shade then you have no business going outdoors in broad daylight.

So I reluctantly hobbled back inside. It felt like I had walked into a meat freezer. I settled myself into a reclining position on the leather sofa, which was tantamount to lying on a frozen box of Klondike Bars. It’s hard for me to read horizontally so I didn’t really enjoy Chapters 46 and 47 as much as I would have had I been sitting in my Walmart chair under the carport. I closed the book and decided to check on the laundry.

I can try to go back outside when it cools off a bit – which according to the Weather Channel will be Thursday or Friday. But I was in a reading mood, not a laundry mood. Nevertheless I decided it isn’t worth it to char broil myself so I’ll slip my bookmark in the beginning of the next chapter and either wait until Thursday or Friday.

Somehow the sensation of the sun beating down on your legs while you’re sleeping in the shade is not the same as lying on a soft leather sofa. Besides, the temptation to turn on your side and grab a quick nap is always there. I don’t like sleeping in the middle of the day. Not even in a chair in the middle of the carport.  I don’t want to look like a complete idiot to the people riding by. But it’s too late for that. I’m already an idiot for going outside to do a little reading.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

